No more pencils, no more books, no more…

So it’s another grey, chilly, rainy day in these parts. Don’t get me wrong I’m not complaining, we need the rain and I’m not quite ready for the “heat” just yet, but for some reason days like today seem to zap me of any ambition to get up and out and do things. When I’m in these moods one of my favorite ways of procrastinating is to read (I think I’ve got myself convinced that it’s not really procrastinating if I’m working my mind) and every once in a while it turns into a productive endeavor of its own – like today!

In my mental bumbling about this morning I came across Horticulture Magazine’s  Garden How-To University and I know that I’ve mentioned Cornell University’s online Horticultural distance learning courses. I have no doubt that both of these courses are well worth the time and money but, the thing is, I’m sure for many of us spending the money for these courses just isn’t an option. So what’s the alternative? Sure there and books, magazines, text books, etc., but if you’re anything like me every now and then you like to take a class. And then it hit me — all the great “classes” I’ve taken for free through the power of the internet.

Now my first “go to” place is iTunes U, where you can find such courses as:

“Plant Growth and Development” by John Harada of UC Davis
“Southwest Yard and Garden Series” by New Mexico Stanten University
“Southwest Home Horticulture” by Urban Horticulture, College of Technology and Innovation, Arizona State University

I also subscribe to a number of podcasts that, although not “course based”, I find educational. These include:

Paul Wheaton’s Permaculture Podcast
You Bet Your Garden
The Self-Sufficient Gardener
The gardening and permaculture episodes on The Survival Podcast
Growing Your Grub

Then there is YouTube:
Camarillo Gardens
Thrifty Gardener
The Permaculture Channel
Eat The Weeds
Midwest Permaculture

These are just a few of the many, many videos available.

Other resources I’ve found useful include:
The Victory Garden
The UK’s Open University, Open Learn
MIT’s OpenCourseWare
The Open Education Database lists several courses in Botany
Wikiversity

Now if you would just like to sit down and read a book there are a number of them on my goodreads list that I recommend, and if you only have time to page through a magazine some of the ones I turn to are:

Texas Gardener
Horticulture Magazine
Fine Gardening
Mother Earth News

If you’ve found any great resources, please let me know so that I can add it to the list.

Have a lovely day.

Comments are closed.