Let’s get this party started…

Obviously, the name Three Pea Permaculture is a play on the Plants, People, Planet idea, but I’ve also always been fond of peas. Some of my earliest memories are of picking peas off the vine, shelling them and popping them in my mouth right there in the dirt. There was something about doing so that just engaged and captured all my young senses.

Ironically, as much as I love growing and putting up food when it gets to the end of long day I find it difficult to get up the energy to cook! So in my continuing journey (and let me tell you I have a long road ahead of me) toward a more sustainable, healthy, simpler and more frugal life I’m working really hard to find the inspiration to cook. I was sitting flipping through “Gourmet Today” when I found the following recipe and thought “Now here’s a fun (and cheesy) way to kick off the blog.” So happy reading and eating and I hope you can visit again soon.

Three Pea Stir-fry (photo by: Romulo Yanes)

Yield: Makes 4 side-dish servings
Active time: 30 min Start to finish: 30 min

It may seem odd that we use frozen green peas, but, sadly, even the best fresh ones can taste starchy by the time they make it to the supermarket.

Ingredients
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 large garlic clove, minced
1 tablespoon finely chopped peeled fresh ginger
1/4 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes
6 oz sugar snap peas, trimmed and cut diagonally into 1-inch pieces
6 oz snow peas, trimmed and cut diagonally into 1-inch pieces
1 cup frozen green peas
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon Asian sesame oil
1 tablespoon sesame seeds, toasted

Preparation
Heat vegetable oil in a 12-inch nonstick skillet over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking, then stir-fry garlic, ginger, and red pepper flakes until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add sugar snaps and snow peas and stir-fry until crisp-tender, about 3 minutes. Add frozen peas and stir-fry until hot, about 2 minutes. Remove from heat, then stir in soy sauce and sesame oil. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and season with salt.
Recipe From Epicurious

Comments are closed.